Saturday, January 18, 2014

Congress oppossed to academic boycott of Israel

If you haven't already done it, stop by the Legal Insurrection blog and thank the team there for leading the battle charge for academic freedom in America.

via Legal Insurrection

134 House Members sign letter against academic boycott of Israel

 A total of 134 Members of the House of Representatives have signed a letter, organized by the offices of Reps. Peter Roskam (R) and Ted Deutch (D) condemning the academic boycott of Israel passed by the American Studies Association. The effort was truly bipartisan, with 65 Republicans and 69 Democrats signing. The full list of signatories is at the bottom of this post.

Signing the list were

Roskam, Peter J.
Bachmann, Michele
Bachus, Spencer
Bentivolio, Kerry L
Bilirakis, Gus M.
Braley, Bruce L.
Bridenstine, Jim
Broun, Paul C.
Brown, Corrine
Brownley, Julia
Campbell, John
Castor, Kathy
Chabot, Steve
Cicilline, David N.
Coffman, Mike
Cohen, Steve
Collins, Doug
Connolly, Gerald E.
Cook, Paul
Costa, Jim
Crowley, Joseph
Davis, Rodney
Delaney, John K.
DelBene, Suzan K.
Dent, Charles W.
DeSantis, Ron
Deutch, Theodore E.
Duncan, Jeff
Engel, Eliot L.
Fleming, John
Foster, Bill
Frankel, Lois
Franks, Trent
Gabbard, Tulsi
Garcia, Joe
Gardner, Cory
Gerlach, Jim
Gohmert, Louie
Grayson, Alan
Green, Al
Green, Gene
Griffin, Tim
Grimm, Michael G.
Hastings, Alcee L.
Heck, Denny
Higgins, Brian
Holding, George
Holt, Rush
Hudson, Richard
Hultgren, Randy
Israel, Steve
Johnson, Bill
Joyce, David P.
Keating, William R.
Kelly, Mike
Kennedy III, Joseph P.
Kilmer, Derek
King, Peter
Kinzinger, Adam
Kuster, Ann M.
Lamborn, Doug
Lance, Leonard
Langevin, James R.
Lankford, James
Larson, John B.
Latham, Tom
Latta, Robert E.
Levin, Sander M.
Lipinski, Daniel
Loebsack, David
Lowenthal, Alan S.
Lowey, Nita M.
Lynch, Stephen F.
Maloney, Carolyn B.
Marino, Tom
Matsui, Doris O.
McCarthy, Carolyn
McCollum, Betty
McGovern, James P.
Meadows, Mark
Meehan, Patrick
Meeks, Gregory W.
Meng, Grace
Messer, Luke
Murphy, Patrick
Nadler, Jerrold
Nunes, Devin
Nunnelee, Alan
Pascrell Jr., Bill
Pearce, Steve
Peters, Gary C.
Peters, Scott H.
Pierluisi, Pedro R.
Pocan, Mark
Polis, Jared
Pompeo, Mike
Quigley, Mike
Reed, Tom
Rokita, Todd
Ros-Lehtinen, Ileana
Royce, Edward R. Royce
Salmon, Matt
Scalise, Steve
Schakowsky, Janice D.
Schiff, Adam B
Schneider, Bradley S.
Schock, Aaron
Schwartz, Allyson Y.
Schweikert, David
Sensenbrenner, Jim
Sessions, Pete
Shea-Porter, Carol
Sherman, Brad
Shimkus, John
Sires, Albio
Smith, Christopher H.
Stivers, Steve
Swalwell, Eric
Tiberi, Patrick J.
Titus, Dina
Upton, Fred
Van Hollen, Chris
Vargas, Juan
Veasey, Marc A.
Walberg, Tim
Walorski, Jackie
Wasserman Schultz, Debbie
Waxman, Henry A.
Weber Sr., Randy K.
Wilson, Frederica S.
Yarmuth, John A.
Yoder, Kevin
Yoho, Ted S.
Young, Todd. C

If your Congressperson isn't on the list, give them a call and ask why.

And in other Academic Boycott news, according to Avi Mayer, who has been diligently tracking the academic world's repudiation of the fringe ASA resolution, as of today 213 universities have renounced the boycott of Israeli academic institutions.


Anonymous said...

I was hoping Barbara Lee would be on board. Do you think she's open-minded enough to be swayed by a phone call/email?

Dusty said...

I'm thinking of flying pigs right now, but hey, lets give it a shot. I will too. If enough of her constituency give her this sort of feed back, maybe- just maybe- we can sway her.

Yet I keep flashing to the flying pigs.